When Grace Asks God for Something

Playing sailboat in the leaves, the 3 of us decided that we wished the leaves were water.  Grace wanted me to go get the hose and I said “NO”  “Not gonna happen.”    This girl knows what she wants.  Beautiful Grace, my curly headed 4 year old stood straight up and with her fists pointed to the heavens—–>

“GOD!!!!!  GOD!!! MAKE IT RAIN.”  “MAKE THIS SAILBOAT WORK!”

Then she sat down, fully confident that God would come through this instant.  Looking at me she asked, “Mom, how come it isn’t raining?”

Big sigh.  Laughing was not an option because this was serious to her.  I put on my mommy face and mommy tone and said, “Well.  (cause all moms start with that to buy thinking time)  Grace, it’s always a good thing to ask God for what you want.  He always hears us but sometimes we have to wait.  Sometimes we wait a really long time.  Sometimes we wait a very short time.”

Grace’s response, “I want rain NOW.  I want to play in REAL water.”

Mom voice gone.  “Yeah, me too.”

And as I’m sitting there in this swimming pool raft…in the front yard… Nathan is on my lap… I wanted to shake my fist at God too.  Just like this child, I want it to Rain.

I want it to Rain in the Church.

I want it to Rain in the Kingdom Work we’re invested in around the world.

I want it to Rain in Africa.

I want it to Rain in the orphanage.

I want it to Rain in Asia.

I want it to Rain in Haiti.

I want it to Rain in Connect Church.

I want it to Rain in my parents lives.

I want it to Rain in my friend’s lives.

I want it to Rain in my family’s  life.

I want it to Rain at the dental office.

I want to see mending of relationships.

I want Jesus to be the Center.

I’m asking.

I have no other options here.

I’m waiting in the raft boat in the drought.  I’m asking for Rain.

children playing in the leaves

 

Grace just woke up from her nap.  Her first question, “Mom, did it rain yet?”

 

Comments
4 Responses to “When Grace Asks God for Something”
  1. Love this! Yes, Father, let it rain.

  2. Beki Tooley says:

    Beautifully written! Love to see faith through children’s eyes! This reminds me of our Haiti trip. YES! ” Let It Rain!”

Leave a Reply

